If you are in a Kentucky car accident, some critical steps should be taken. After a car accident, many feel frazzled and are not sure what the next steps are. These steps will help:
- Stop at the scene, look for injuries, and then call 911
- After the accident, when you call 911, mark the location, describe the scene, and let them know if anyone is injured. You are required to give the other driver your name and address, car registration, and your driver's license.
- Report the accident to the police
- When you are in an accident in Kentucky that results in injury, death or property damage worth $500 you are required to report it to the Department of Kentucky State Police within ten days.
- The first thing a police officer should do when he/she arrives at the scene is to make sure everyone is safe and secure the scene. They will then create an accident crash report with the names and addresses of drivers, passengers, witnesses, pedestrians, and cyclists.
- Start gathering evidence
- Gather evidence that will prove the other driver's negligence was the leading cause of your property damage or injury.
- Report to your insurance company
- Make sure to report the car accident to your insurance company because the other driver may think you are at fault, even if you believe you are not. Do not give them a recorded statement without speaking to an experienced attorney first. The police report contains all the facts they need, and they will ask you about your injuries, which you should not speak to them about until you have seen a doctor.
- Kentucky’s pure comparative statute
- Kentucky does not limit the amount of negligence a victim can contribute to a car accident. If a victim is 99% at fault, they can still receive compensation from the other driver.
- Kentucky Short Statute of Limitations for Car Accident
- In Kentucky, you have two years from the date of the collision (or the last PIP payment) to file a lawsuit to preserve your case. Make sure you don't want too long. If you wait beyond the statute of limitations, there your case is dead. Most lawyers require at least 60 days to evaluate your case as well, so if you want to hire a lawyer, make sure you call someone well before the two-year anniversary of your wreck.
Operating the aftermath of a car crash is a strenuous task. We are here to relieve that stress and let you focus on getting healthy. If you or a loved one have been injured in a car accident, please do not hesitate to call Dixie Law Group at 502-305-4654.
You will receive a 100% free consultation with an attorney.
Dixie Law Group, PSC – A Neighborhood Personal Injury Law Firm