Legal Options When Hit by a Drunk Driver

A DWI (driving while intoxicated) or a DUI (driving under the influence) is when a driver is driving under the influence of alcohol or any substance that impairs their motor skills which inhibits their ability to drive. Substances including illegal drugs, prescriptions, over the counter medicine, etc. are included. Commonwealth of Kentucky lists the suspension times in Kentucky for DUI offenses.

The suspension times changes in July of 2020 and the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet will issue a suspension times based on your offense and conviction. The suspension times are listed below.

1st offense within 10 years

  • 90 days of an alcohol or substance abuse program
  • License suspended for 6 months.

2nd offense within 10 years

  • One year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • License suspended for 18 months.

3rd offense within 10 years

  • One year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • License suspended for 36 months.

4th offense within 10 years

  • One year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • License suspended for 60 months.

If you are a commercial driver convicted of a DUI in any type of vehicle you will be suspended for one year and must pay a $50 reinstatement fee. You will need to pass a written and vision test before getting a permit again. After holding a commercial learner’s permit for 14 days, the driver must pass all skill test before obtaining a commercial license. If you refuse to take or submit the test required than the court will suspend your driver’s license for the period, the license is suspended upon conviction.

Legal encyclopedia, Nolo, explains DUI convictions, lawsuits and insurance companies. Insurance companies rarely try to avoid lawsuits, but they do try to avoid those involving DUI car accidents. Insurance companies will likely settle before the case has the opportunity to go to trial because they will most likely lose. Although if you are the plaintiff you might prefer to settle in court with the driver’s(defendant) insurance company. If you file a third-party claim against the drunk driver’s insurance company seeking for full compensation for your injuries and losses from the accident, then you are likely to receive a generous settlement offer.

If you or a loved one is involved in a drunk driving car accident, call our attorneys at the Dixie Law Group at 502-378-7343 to receive a 100% free first-time consultation. Our attorney’s will be happy to assist you through the process.

Reach Out To Us For Help

We work closely with our clients and offer vigorous representation both in and out of the courtroom. If you would like to learn more about our services, please reach out to our office today.

You can contact our lawyers in Louisville at 502-806-8711 or contact us online. Initial consultations are always free.


Learn How We Can Help

Consultation with an Attorney

If you would like to speak with an attorney, reach out to us. You can call our firm at 502-273-5178 or contact us online.

The information contained in this website is provided for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as legal advice on any matter. The transmission and receipt of information contained on this website, in whole or in part, or communication with the Dixie Law Group, PSC via the Internet or e-mail through this website does not constitute or create a lawyer-client relationship between this firm and any recipient. You should not send any confidential information in response to this webpage. Such responses will not create a lawyer-client relationship, and whatever you disclose will not be privileged or confidential unless this firm has agreed to act as your legal counsel and you have executed a written engagement agreement with Dixie Law Group, PSC.